Bio

From the Voice of Ancestors to the Voice of the Future

One is born a griot, but one becomes an artist.

- Djely Tapa

Djely Tapa is a singer-songwriter based in Montreal. Her first album Barokan evokes the African blues and the vibrations of the Sahel and is tinged with electro. It won the 2020 Juno award for best Canadian album of world music.

Djely Tapa was born in the Kayes region of western Mali into an illustrious family of griots (djely in the Malinke language – heirs of centuries-old artistic traditions). Her mother Kandia Kouyaté is renowned as one of the great contemporary voices in Mali, while her father Djely Bouya Diarra was a legendary dancer and singer. She has been singing, dancing and telling stories since childhood. After moving to Canada to pursue studies in aeronautics, she soon focused on music. For more than a decade she sang alongside numerous artists in shows presented at major events across the country (Zal Idrissa Sissokho, Aboulaye Koné et Bolokan, Cirque Kalabanté…).

At the same time, Djely Tapa directed several projects that allowed her to preserve and promote classical Mandingo traditions and to explore diverse artistic approaches. In 2018 she decided to embark on a solo career, taking on the double challenge of being both an ambassador of djeliya – the narratives, music and oral traditions of the griots – and an explorer pursuing new musical forms. Accompanied by incredible musicians, she released Barokan in 2019. Produced by Caleb Rimtobaye (AfrotroniX) and Eli Levinson, it features 11 pieces imbued with Afro-futurism. Praised by audiences and critics alike both here and abroad, Djely Tapa has received several awards (including a Juno for best Canadian album of world music). Barokan (Deluxe edition) was released in Europe in October 2020 with a new track entitled Biriko Spirit – produced by Jean Massicotte (Lhasa de Sela, Arthur H, etc.). A scheduled tour of Europe was postponed to 2022 due to the pandemic.

As a singer she has numerous collaborations to her credit. She has shared the stage with artists such as Sylvie Desgroseillers (Quebec), Patrice Michaud (Quebec) and Oumou Sangare (Mali). She toured Mexico twice with Tonana (Claudia Martinez) and Colombia with Les Frontières Imaginaires (Moustafa Kouyaté and Romain Malagnoux). As a chorus singer she performed in two European and international tours with the world-famous group Les Amazones d’Afrique. In 2019 she was asked by Tiken Jah Fakoly to sing Le monde est chaud at Radio-Canada’s Studio 12. That same year she worked with the composer Sangit on Child of War, was invited by Idan Raichel Project to perform at the Olympia in Paris and recorded Recuerdos, a song by Ramon Chicharron. Since 2017 she has been the main vocalist for the Montreal group Afrikana Soul Sister.

With a powerful, high-pitched voice, incandescent delivery and elegant gestures, Djely Tapa explores a musical language that looks to the world and to the future, synthesizing her musical heritage and incorporating contemporary sounds. Her songs convey a message of strength and hope, giving voice to the struggles of the marginalized. She sings mainly in Malinke, Bambara and Kassonke, but sometimes in French. Djely Tapa is a spokesperson for several causes, especially those that promote gender equality and support women of African descent.

One is born a griot, but one becomes an artist.

Bio

De la voix des ancêtres à la voix du futur

On nait griotte, mais artiste, on le devient

- Djely Tapa

Djely Tapa est une auteure-compositrice-interprète basée à Montréal au Québec. Son premier album, Barokan, forgé dans le blues africain, les ambiances sahéliennes et infusé d’électro, a remporté en 2020 le JUNO du meilleur album canadien en musique du monde.

Djely Tapa est née dans la région de Kayes dans l’ouest au Mali, dans une illustre famille de griots (djely en malinké – les héritiers de traditions artistiques multiséculaires). Sa mère, Kandia Kouyaté, est reconnue comme l’une des grandes voix contemporaines du Mali et son père, Djely Bouya Diarra, était un légendaire danseur et chanteur. Elle a toujours chanté, dansé et conté. Venue au Canada pour y poursuivre ses études en aéronautique, elle est rapidement rattrapée par la musique. Pendant plus d’une décennie, elle se produit aux côtés de nombreux artistes dans les grands évènements du pays (Zal Idrissa Sissokho, Aboulaye Koné et Bolokan, Cirque Kalabanté, etc.).

En parallèle, Djely Tapa dirige plusieurs projets qui lui permettent de perpétuer la tradition classique mandingue et d’explorer la création. En 2018, elle décide d’entreprendre une carrière solo. Elle se donne comme double défi d’être à la fois ambassadrice de la djeliya – l’art de la griotique – et exploratrice de nouvelles formes musicales. Elle lance Barokan en 2019, un premier opus de 11 titres imbibés d’afrofuturisme, réalisé par Caleb Rimtobaye (AfrotroniX) et Eli Levinson. Sur scène, elle s’accompagne de formidables musiciens. Saluée par la critique et le public au Canada comme à l’international, Djely Tapa remporte plusieurs prix dont le JUNO du meilleur album canadien en musique du monde. Fin 2020, l’album Barokan (édition Deluxe) paraît en Europe avec un titre inédit, « Biriko Spirit », réalisé par Jean Massicotte (Lhasa de Sela, Arthur H, etc.). La tournée européenne est reportée à 2022 en raison de la pandémie.

La chanteuse a de nombreuses collaborations à son actif. Elle a partagé la scène avec des artistes comme Sylvie Desgroseillers (Québec), Patrice Michaud (Québec), Oumou Sangare (Mali), Tonana (Mexique), Moustafa Kouyaté et Romain Malagnoux (Mali/Québec). Elle a réalisé plusieurs tournées au Mexique et en Colombie à titre d’invitée, et deux tournées en Europe et à l’international en tant que choriste avec le super groupe, Les Amazones d’Afrique. En 2019, Djely Tapa était l’invitée de Tiken Jah Fakoly pour reprendre la pièce, « Le monde est chaud », au studio 12 de Radio-Canada, ainsi que du Idan Raichel Project à l’Olympia de Paris. Elle collaborait avec le compositeur Sangit sur le titre, « Child of War », et elle enregistrait une pièce avec Ramon Chicharron, « Recuerdos ». Depuis 2017, Djely Tapa incarne également la voix principale du groupe montréalais, Afrikana Soul Sister.

La voix puissante et haut-perchée, le débit incandescent et le geste élégant, Djely Tapa explore un langage tourné sur le monde et vers l’avenir, qui fait la synthèse de ses héritages musicaux, transcendé de sons actuels et électro. Ses chansons portent un message de force, d’amour, d’espoir, et elles se font l’écho de luttes féministes et sociales. On la retrouve d’ailleurs en tant que porte-parole de plusieurs causes et campagnes de sensibilisation. La cantatrice chante principalement dans les langues malinké, bambara, khassonké, et parfois en français.

On nait griotte, mais artiste, on le devient